Uxbridge Historical Society
Enjoy the scenic view of the Uxbridge Valley and the Oak Ridges Moraine while visiting the Uxbridge Historical Centre. Passport holders will enjoy three buildings designated under the Ontario Heritage Act. The Fifth Line Church (1870), Stokes-Kydd House (1908) and Quaker Hill Public School (1924) will all be featured on the tour.
The Fifth Line Church was a Methodist, and later, a United Church. It was originally located in Coppins Corners, north of the intersection of Durham Road 21 and the Fifth Line. The Church was in use until 1966; it was moved to the Historical Centre grounds in 1979. The piano and organ in the church were built at the Uxbridge Piano and Organ Company. The Church is used for weddings and other special events as well as theatrical performances, seasonal exhibits, and annual church services.
The Quaker Hill Public School is the only original building on the Historical Centre grounds. It was used from 1924 until 1969 and is currently used as programming and rental space for the Historical Centre. The slate blackboards are and school desks are original.
The Stokes-Kydd House was built by George Stokes on the present day grounds of Uxbridge
Secondary School and was moved to the Centre in 2002. It was built in the Edwardian style, which was common for houses built in Ontario between 1900 and 1930. The building houses the Centre’s main office, a display gallery, and archival research space.